Live & Results
The Superbru Herald - Superbru News

SA20: South Africa's new T20 cricket league starts next week

A brand new T20 cricket tournament launches next week in South Africa as the inaugural season of the ‘SA20’ takes place.

The tournament, which has been made the clear priority in South Africa's cricket calendar by CSA, consists of 6 franchises: Durban’s Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI Cape Town, Pretoria Capitals, Sunrisers Eastern Cape and Paarl Royals.

Now, if you’re a T20 cricket fan, there’s a good chance many of these names are already familiar to you, and that’s because each of the franchises are owned by the same people/groups as many of the IPL franchises. As a result, the teams are essentially brother/sister franchises of those in the IPL. E.g. Pretoria Capitals are owned by the Delhi Capitals owners, Paarl Royals are partnered with Rajasthan Royals and so on.

Former Proteas captain Graeme Smith is the SA20 League Commissioner and the regular season begins on Tuesday 10th January in Cape Town. The regular season runs through to February 7th, with a short break in late January to allow for players to be available for the upcoming 3-match ODI series between South Africa and England.

Once complete, two semi-finals take place on the 8th and 9th February ahead of the final on Saturday 11th February.

On Superbru, you can join a brand new Predictor game for the SA20 here:

To join the SA20 Predictor on the Superbru app, tap the '+' icon in the top right corner of our home tab and select 'Join a tournament'.

Of course, with everything totally new in this inaugural campaign, picks won’t be easy. However, as with many of the other franchise competitions around the world, the main thing to go off is how strong you believe each squad that the franchises have drafted is.

Partly because of the links to the IPL franchises, there are a number of very high profile players in this new South African competition, with quite a mix of overseas and local talent. MI Cape Town stand out as having a particularly strong side... you can find the six SA20 squads for the opening season listed below.

2023 SA20 Squads

Durban’s Super Giants
Batters: Quinton de Kock (C), Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, Johnson Charles, Matthew Breetzke

All Rounders: Akila Dananjaya, Dwaine Pretorius, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Kyle Mayers, Wiaan Mulder

Bowlers: Dilshan Madushanka, Hardus Viljoen, Junior Dala, Keshav Maharaj, Prenelan Subrayen, Reece Topley, Simon Harmer

Joburg Super Kings
Batters: Faf du Plessis (C), Donavon Ferreira, Janneman Malan, Leus du Plooy, Neil Brand, Reeza Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne

All Rounders: Lewis Gregory, Romario Shepherd

Bowlers: Alzarri Joseph, Aaron Phangiso, George Garton, Gerald Coetzee, Lizard Williams, Maheesh Theekshana, Malusi Siboto, Nandre Burger

MI Cape Town
Batters: Dewald Brevis, Wesley Marshall, Ryan Rickelton, Rassie van der Dussen, Grant Roelofsen

All Rounders: Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith, Sam Curran, Delano Potgieter, Duan Jansen, George Linde

Bowlers: Rashid Khan (C), Beuran Hendricks, Jofra Archer, Kagiso Rabada, Olly Stone, Waqar Salamkheil, Ziyaad Abrahams

Paarl Royals
Batters: David Miller (C), Dane Vilas, Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Jos Buttler, Mitchell van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe

All Rounders: Andile Phehlukwayo, Corbin Bosch, Evan Jones, Ferisco Adams

Bowlers: Bjorn Fortuin, Codi Yusuf, Imran Manack, Lungi Ngidi, Obed McCoy, Ramon Simmons, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pretoria Capitals
Batters: Cameron Delport, Marco Marais, Phil Salt, Rilee Rossouw, Theunis de Bruyn, Will Jacks, Kusal Mendis

All Rounders: Wayne Parnell (C), Shane Dadswell, Senuran Muthusamy, Migael Pretorius, Jimmy Neesham

Bowlers: Adil Rashid, Anrich Nortje, Daryn Dupavillon, Eathan Bosch, Josh Little, Shaun von Berg

Sunrisers Eastern Cape
Batters: Aiden Markram (C), Adam Rossington, Jordan Cox, Jordan Hermann, Marques Ackerman, Sarel Erwee, Tristan Stubbs, Tom Abell

All Rounders: James Fuller, JJ Smuts, Marco Jansen, Roelof van der Merwe, Sisanda Magala

Bowlers: Brydon Carse, Aya Gqamane, Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, Ottniel Baartman

As with all franchise competitions, it's worth noting that these squads are subject to change. For instance, England star Harry Brook was originally in the Joburg Super Kings squad before being withdrawn by the ECB to manage his schedule. Brook's replacement is yet to be confirmed at the time of writing.

Good luck with your picks in our Predictor and let's hope this proves to be a great new tournament in South Africa!
94,490 caps
Thanks Jack
Best wishes for 2023
5 Jan 15:13
85,232 caps
Paarl Royals looks the better squad for me.
5 Jan 16:25
73,161 caps
Yes Agreed! 5 Jan 18:24
16,404 caps
I would have said the same before last nights game, just goes to show

11 Jan 13:30
70,672 caps
Eastern Cape look the weakest.
5 Jan 20:34
16,404 caps
Pretoria and Jhb in my opinion 11 Jan 13:31
2,804 caps
What's dis crap dat ur talking about jack
6 Jan 07:40
646 caps
Bigmacomeback is my brother
7 Jan 11:14
2,804 caps
Yea I am
7 Jan 11:18
6,602 caps
When will the teams for upcoming matches be updated so that I can make my picks
8 Jan 08:39
2,804 caps
8 Jan 10:06
11,583 caps
Any chance of fantasy picks?
9 Jan 05:19
2,804 caps
9 Jan 06:40
8,402 caps
This tournament will showcase Dewald Brevis as SA's most talented batsman since Barry Richards. And afterwards CSA will have even more egg on their faces for not selecting him in the recent World Cup or the Oz test tour.
9 Jan 07:08
16,404 caps
Think AB told him to stay away from the Proteas and CSA 11 Jan 13:33
38,193 caps
Your words are becoming reality. 16 Jan 08:41
21,004 caps
A wonderful introduction to the competition Jack. I expect to do terribly in the first round.
11 Jan 02:26